Learning to Love Lace

May 19, 2010

I’ve had a mental list of things I’ll need to make before I can consider myself a “real” knitter.  Let’s not go into why I believe this to be true.  It’s not rational, of that I’m sure.  I know that I AM a real knitter: I take yarn, manipulate it around two sticks, and create lovely finished products.  That’s knitting; therefore, I’m a knitter.  But there are a couple of knitterly hurdles that I want to leap:

  • a pair of socks that fit and feel good
  • a lace shawl

I’m delighted to say that I’m getting close to completing item #2. Sometime last year, I found the Cleite shawl by Miriam Felton and was smitten. (Pattern photo, not my creation, below)

Cleite lace shawl by Miriam L. Felton

And then I found the beautiful Misti Alpaca laceweight at the wonderful Webs.

It’s taken a while ages to get this point.  At first, it was like knitting with exquisitely soft dental floss. I must have ripped back several rows 3 or 4 times before I completed the first 24-row repeat.  And ripping back lace is a whole new ballgame.

But after several sessions of uninterrupted knitting, mostly on the Providence-Philadelphia route on Southwest Airlines, it began to grow on me.   I realized that I could really see the pattern emerging and was able to work without referring to the chart every couple of stitches. Work-in-Progress: Cleite Lace Shawl

It’s hard to tell in this photo, but the yarn shifts subtly from midnight blue to light blue to sea green. Just gorgeous.

Now that I’m on the 7th repeat (for a total of about 325 stitches per row), I’m thoroughly enjoying it. Feeling so confident that I took it along to a recent middle school boys’ lacrosse game on a beautiful sunny day.

Might have been tempting fate though; I soon discovered that I’d mucked up not one but two repeats, which necessitated ripping back (tinking, really). Perhaps lace and lacrosse really aren’t meant to go together.

2 Responses to “Learning to Love Lace”


  1. […] without having a baby-to-be in mind.  I was looking for something easy to knit as a break from the lace, something I could work on at fast-moving basketball and hockey games over the […]

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

