Dreaming of Noro Striped Scarf

May 21, 2010

In my nearly five decades of life, I’ve learned a few things about myself. Fear not, I won’t share them all. Although I consider myself an “in the moment” sort of person, grateful for the many blessings in my life (and there are many) and rarely wishing for something else, I often find myself looking forward to the Next Wonderful Thing.

As I continue to make slow-and-steady progress on the lovely Cleite shawl (nearly 3 rows at Kevin’s baseball game yesterday), it is slow going indeed.

It shouldn’t surprise me, then, that I’ve found myself dreaming of the simplicity and creative ingenuity of the Noro Stripe scarf by the talented Brooklyn Tweed (who, in addition to being a great knitter, takes stunningly beautiful photographs of knitted creations).

Noro Stripe ScarfLast year I knit two, and still have one that I’ll give as a gift to someone whose neck is chilly. Noro Silk Garden is lovely to work with, feels great in your hands, and comes in many different color variations.  I picked two that blended some of my favorite colors (even though I’m not the wearer of the scarf).

What I love about this scarf:

  • very simple 1×1 ribbing (K1, P1 over odd number of stitches) looks like stockinette stitch on both sides, so there’s no “wrong” side;
  • Noro changes color all by itself so the stripes just emerge;
  • it’s knit with two different balls of yarn, in two different colorways, so the stripes interact. You knit two rows with one ball, then two with the other ball, then back to the first, etc.  The “extra” yarn in between rows is kind of invisibly absorbed along the edge. Nothing to weave in or join.

Lovely, yes?

Noro Stripe Scarf rolled up


Please Leave a Reply

