How Long Did it Take to Knit That?

June 1, 2010

I’m never sure how to answer when someone asks how long it took me to finish a project.  The truth is, I just don’t keep careful track of the time.  And I usually have several works in progress at the same time (OK, some have been sitting in a bag in the closet for a couple of years, but they’re still technically “in progress” even if I’ll never finish them!). There are many possible answers to the question:

  • “This baby hat took about one complete Red Sox game — on TV, not at Fenway, too many distractions.”
  • “I started this sweater last summer when I fell in love with the pattern and yarn, but then I had to knit a baby blanket for a friend and some Christmas gifts, so I didn’t pick it up again until April.”  Does that mean it’s taken me a year?!
  • “Oh, this lace shawl knit with luscious fine wool on size 2 needles?  I may be finished by the time I’m 50.”

I don’t usually give a direct answer because, well, I can’t.  I just don’t know.  Sometimes I can see myself in a particular place knitting this one object, and I try to count back to when that was.

While knitting a baby blanket at one of Michael’s  Little League game, an errant foul ball bopped a woman in the face. I jumped up to help her and a bit of blood got on the blanket.  She was fine, and the blood came out in the wash.  I finished that blanket while on a ferry to Cape Cod, probably in August.  So…Little League game in June (but I’d knit a bit by then, so maybe I started in April), and finished in August.  Four months?

A precise answer isn’t really what the person asking is looking for, I believe.  I think people ask because they’re curious, they want to show interest, and they want to be able to gauge (rightly or wrongly) if they could someday knit one of these (usually) lovely items, too.

If only they’d ask me that — “Do you think I could make one of those?”  I’d enthusiastically answer, “Of course, you could!”

One Response to “How Long Did it Take to Knit That?”


  1. What a great post–I had a good chuckle, because so many of us have heard the same question. I never know how to answer either, and usually end up telling them how much time it might take me if I were to work on it straight through (in terms of weekends).

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

