More Cables

January 17, 2011

The more I knit, the more I learn about myself. Occasionally, I’m surprised. I tend to think of myself as a generalist,
someone who likes to learn about lots of different things without going far into depth in any one particular topic or
discipline. I’ve long marveled at friends who’ve completed their doctoral degrees and dissertations, thinking, “there’s
nothing that interests me enough to spend all that time and energy.” I love to learn something new, really understand
it so that I can explain it to others, but that’s usually the extent of it.

As I approached the end of the Every Way Wrap, with its intricate cables along the length of one side, I thought I’d take
a break from cables for a while. Been there, done that; time to move on to something new. But apparently I hadn’t done enough cables because the very next project I cast one was full of cables. In response to a “what’s on your needles” question to friend Laurie, she sent me a pattern for a cabled hat. I was smitten and knew I had just the right yarn in my stash — a red wool with occasional flecks of blue, yellow, and green.

close-up of cable hat

Alas, the brand and color remain a mystery since there were no labels. No doubt they’d been lost by my niece during one of her sessions with my ball-winder. It was a relatively easy pattern to memorize and a pretty quick knit — helped by several extended sessions of sports-watching, on the couch and in the stands.

“Who’s it for?” people would ask, and I’d have to confess that I didn’t know.  Sounds ridiculous, I know, but I was knitting just for the pleasure of creating.  However, as I began the decreases, I realized that I needed to find a head
worthy of such a lovely cabled hat.  By the time it was blocked, I knew just the person: lovely niece Nora, who declared, it “fits like a dream.”

Please Leave a Reply

