Bit by Bit & an Amazing Dress

August 8, 2013

WIth my renewed commitment to more knitting and more regular blogging, I’ve been exploring ways to fit these two pleasures into my day.

Knitting at work kind of defeats the purpose of work. It’s not quite at all legit to charge clients for time when, in fact, you’re not really doing the agreed-upon work. Although it looks more like work than knitting does, blogging at my desk isn’t Kosher either.

I’ve yet to find a way to knit while driving although I must confess that much of my excitement at the prospect of driverless cars is actually fueled by a I-could-knit-while-driving excitement.

Keeping my knitting close at hand and picking it up for short intervals is helpful and kind of fun. It makes those inevitable gaps of the day seem less like waiting. Mentally composing a blog post on my morning run or walk is sometimes fruitful — if I can remember to write my thoughts once I get home.

I’m at that point in the crescent shawl where progress is hard to see. It’s too scrunched on the needles to be measurable. At least, I can’t be bothered to do it.

crescent shawl in progress

I think I’ll go for another 3 or 4 inches before binding off. As with most projects, the closer I get to finishing, the more eager I am to be done.

Speaking of projects, my knitting cruise mate Jenny is making an exquisite Icelandic dress (Lopi Lite, I believe). Knit from the bottom up, with two gorgeous bands on the hem, it is going to be a wearable work of art.

Icelandic dress knit in Lopi Lite

What’s on your needles these days? And where & when do you knit?

 

 

 

One Response to “Bit by Bit & an Amazing Dress”


  1. I definitely get this post. I agree about the work thing. Not a good look. I am lucky enough that I have just over an hours drive to and from work and my husband drives….. So lucky me, lots of knitting gets done during commuting.

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

