Zig-zags on a Crescent

August 14, 2013

After a binding-off miscalculation, which resulted in a bit of tinking back and re-binding-off, the crescent shawl is done.

CrescentShawl

It’s a variation of Ann Weaver‘s basic triangle shawl; actually, a smaller version of her Saturated Shawl.  I didn’t discover until I’d blocked it that I’d been less than consistent in my increases. The result is that there are two zig-zaggy lines of increase “holes” from the center to the edge. I blame this mistake “design element” on the frequency with which I knit this while in a bar and/or while chatting with lively, engaging, and downright funny fellow knitters.

crescentshawl2

I used some lovely sock yarn that I bought in Ottawa earlier this spring: Blue Faced Leicester Sock by Riverside Studio in Quebec. The dyer is Kathryn, katdry on Ravelry, where she seems to be more active than her  Etsy shop (where I was unable to view the beautiful yarn that I know is there).

I added a couple of stripes of light gray that I took from the stash that Ann Weaver shared on our cruise. I wanted to set off the second triangle that starts about shoulder blade height. Of course, if you wear it wrapped around neck, the stripes appear every which way.

crescentwrapped

I used a new bind-off, taught to me by wonder-knitter Barb. One that’s looser and more stretchy, just right for the edge of a shawl that you want to drape every so loosely.

Instead of the usual knit 2, stitches then bind one off (looping one stitch over the next, resulting in one remaining stitch on right needle), you knit 2 stitches, then knit them together through the back. Like this:

bindoff

This leaves you one stitch on your right needle. Knit one more, then knit 2 together through the back again. Repeat until the end of the row. The result is a nice, loose edge – like this:

stretchybindoff

I’m looking forward to getting reacquainted with the Albers Cowl.

MAalbers

2 Responses to “Zig-zags on a Crescent”

  1. Patrick Dober Says:

    Mary Ann,

    Glad to be in the fold of your followers. Beautiful work.

    PLD

    Like

  2. masscommons Says:

    Lovely work and description. “Design elements” seems like a phrase that could be extraordinarily useful in fields beyond knitting!

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

