When in Doubt, Read the Pattern

August 29, 2013

My Mom is full of old sayings, many of which are prefaced by “As my mother would say….” One of her favorites is “when in doubt, read the directions.” So true, so true.

I figured out why Square 2 of the Albers cowl was turning out to be significantly bigger than Square 1.  It wasn’t an inexplicable change in tension (I’m pretty steady in the tension department). Nor was it because the yarn used for the outer border of #1 was different than all the other yarns.

Nope. I’d just misread the pattern and had knit many more rows than I should have.

I also figured out that ripping out is much less distressing when done while drinking beer on the ferry to a beautiful island.

RippingFerry

4 Responses to “When in Doubt, Read the Pattern”

  1. Cathie Says:

    Or … While having a drink in a bar with good friends and fellow knitters. I found the venue and conversation helped alot as I unknit several rows of my shawl (ok …a couple of times). As for me, I didn’t read the pattern until I was well along.

    Like


  2. When in doubt….drink wine :)

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

