Running Short

September 15, 2013

You know that feeling when you do a quick mental-visual calculation and realize that the yarn you need is greater than the yarn you have? Yeah, that.

TooLittleYarn

While knitting with the good women of the midday Friday group at JP Knit & Stitch, I suddenly realized that I would a few yards short of the yarn needed to finish the final side of Square 3 of the Albers Cowl. I had about 16 rows of garter stitch to go and had enough yarn for maybe half that. “What yarn is it?,” someone asked. “Maybe you can search for more on Ravelry.”

Alas, I have no idea what yarn I’m working with. This was a small ball pulled from an ample stash of fingering weight yarn by Ann Weaver during our color theory class. It’s black that’s subtly flecked with purple and green — but mostly black.

As luck would have it, there’s a plastic bin of charity yarn at the shop that I was able to dig through in search of black fingering weight. Most of the donations were heavier and not black, but at the bottom of the bin I discovered what I was seeking.

Rather than finish with the original yarn and then switch to the replacement, I switched between them every two rows. It’s nearly impossible to see the difference except if you’re very close.

AltColor

After binding off the final row, I had two very small bits of each. I wondered if maybe I had enough of the original yarn so that I didn’t need the black “replacement” after all. But I’m not about to find out. Sometimes it’s best to leave well enough alone and start blocking.

WhatsLeft

 

One Response to “Running Short”

  1. Anna Says:

    Oh the cleverness of you !

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

