Taking the Plunge — again!

September 30, 2013

Four and a half years ago, I branched out on my own as a marketing communications consultant. I love the variety of the work, the flexibility in my schedule, and the ongoing learning about the industry and new clients. And I especially love my “commute” up two flights to the tiny storage room my office.

Two weeks ago, with a nudge from a friend (thanks, Kathe), I took the plunge into a new adventure — launching a knitting class from my home. I’ve taught classes before through our local community education program and loved the experience.

I emailed about 25 friends and neighbors and am so excited that, on Wednesday, seven adventurous, creative people (plus a 5-month old baby) will start class.

What are your suggestions for a terrific first (or second) knitting project?

5 Responses to “Taking the Plunge — again!”


  1. Good luck with your new venture – exciting times :~)
    I wondered about knitted baskets as a next project, good introduction to shaping but without having to be precise about tension or the size of the end product.

    Like

  2. Daniella Says:

    Congratulations! It’s so exhilarating to pursue big dreams. :)

    Though I’d categorize myself as an intermediate knitter, I’ve taught about 10-15 people to knit. I’m all about the instant gratification. Dischcloths are great. Cotton yarn rips out easily, is cheap ($2 for a ball of Sugar and Cream that makes 2-3 dishcloths? yes please!) and the variegated colorways are fun to knit up.

    Once your group gets the hang of that, 3 ideas:
    1) icord. Easy intro to double points, and a good jumping off point for a creative group (they could embellish it, attach it to dishcloths etc).

    2) Love this hat pattern (found it on ravelry/ no relation or connection to author): http://brensknits-coolbeans.blogspot.com/2012/01/classic-slouchy-tuque.html?m=1

    I find that it knits up quite small, but it’s a good discussion for gauge and adapting patterns. New knitters sometimes take patterns as gospel, so it’s good to break them of the habit early. Just adding extra rows allows the pattern to fit most people. Simple knit, just 2×2 ribbing for the brim, simple stockinette and then easy k2tog decrease. Good start to circular needles.

    3) African comfort doll. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/izzy-african-comfort-doll

    I’ve knit a bunch for charity, and it’s good for beginners to see how much can be done with a flat piece of knitting. Good intro to seaming. Unlimited creativity and a way to introduce stripes, while still working on garter.

    Be sure to update us on the class!

    Like

  3. Patrick Dober Says:

    I suggest warm wool hats for husbands with minimal hair to wear in bed at night.

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

