Good Thing I Enjoy the Process

October 13, 2013

In the past 5 years or so, I’ve come to realize that I’m a process knitter. I really enjoy the act of knitting. Don’t get me wrong — I like to finish a project, too. But I don’t have to wait for the end to enjoy myself.

This is a good thing because I regularly find myself having to tear out stitches rows and rows of a project. Take my latest sock (please). I had a feeling it was too big shortly after I finished the ribbing.

BigSock 

I tore it out and started again with 8 fewer stitches. Did I check the gauge? I think you know the answer.

Every time I picked up this somewhat smaller sock, I thought “hmmm, that looks kind of big.” But I reasoned with myself that I’d already started over with fewer stitches so it couldn’t be too big — could it?

Yes, it certainly could. And while the eventual recipient of the socks is an 18-year old athlete, he does not have elephantine calves or ankles.

IMG_2674

But I had carried on longer than was sensible because I was enjoying the process: turning the heel and knitting half of the foot. I finally got a grip on reality and decided to ditch the whole thing and start over.

UnwindingSock

Tearing out is much more fun when you use a ball winder. And you get a lovely ball of yarn…again.

Rewound

 

One Response to “Good Thing I Enjoy the Process”


  1. […] about the inevitability of mistakes in knitting and about the many mistakes I’ve made in a variety of projects. Learning to fix mistakes is one of the key steps in becoming a Fearless […]

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

