Socktober, Just Under the Wire

October 31, 2013

Since she was unable to attend class this week, I paid a house call to Judy who was close to finishing her first sock. We’d met earlier in the week after she texted that she had a “knitting crisis” with the gusset and asked if I had a few minutes to help.

Non-knitters may scoff at the idea of a knitting crisis, but most of you know exactly what I’m talking about. Been there. Done that and survived, often with the help of a friend who talked us down from the “I’m-going-to-rip-out-the-whole-thing” edge.

What she needed, and what I was happy to provide, was a steady voice talking her through the toe shaping and reassuring her that, yes indeed, she was doing it right. She chanted through the Kitchener stitch mantra (more on that below) and then she had it, a complete, correctly proportioned, cozy, bee-yoo-ti-ful sock!

JudySock

I think she was appropriately pleased and proud even as she voiced doubt about whether she’d be able to make its mate. She can and she will.

A couple of days before, I’d shaped the toe of the first of K’s socks and was down to 8 stitches per needle. Since no one wants a seam along the toe of a sock, these stitches would be joined, or grafted, together (as opposed to being bound off and then seamed).

IMG_2719

I keep a Kitchener stitch cheat sheet rolled up in my darning needle holder so it’s right where I can find it when I need it. I’ll spare you the details of how long it took me to get the damn thing out of the tube. Suffice to say that I used DPNs as chopsticks before resorting to tweezers.

IMG_2720

I talked my way through each move: through stitch on front needle as if to purl, leave on needle; through stitch on back as if to knit, leave….

And then there it was.

IMG_2721

I don’t know if Socktober is a thing, but I like the sound of it so there you go.

Please Leave a Reply

