Happy Feet

February 28, 2014

One of the reasons it took me so long to try knitting socks was that I thought that no one would want to wear them. And by no one, I mean no one except me. And even I wasn’t so sure that I’d find them comfortable.

One of the biggest and best surprises was how very wrong I was. All three of my children love handknit socks. And now Michael finally has his own pair.

MichaelSocks

It’s the Yarn Harlot’s basic sock recipe (on Ravelry and in Knitting Rules – love that book) for a size 11.5 men’s, below calf, in red multi Berroco Sox.

 

IMG_3177

I made no effort to match the stripes. I like a bit of randomness every now and then, especially in something as safe as socks. Kevin, whose feet are about the same size, has requested that I make his next pair smaller than the last pair. Those are comfy, he assures me. Just a bit too floppy. I’ll drop down a needle size so they’re more snug.

I think I’ll try a toe-up pattern for something new. Any suggestions?

6 Responses to “Happy Feet”


  1. […] Mary Ann on Happy Feet […]

    Like


  2. I’ve never got around to knitting socks for similar reasons, maybe I should. Those look lovely.

    Like

    • Mary Ann Says:

      They’re definitely worth a try. One of the other things I love about socks is that there are about 7 different parts — cuff, leg, heel flap, heel, gusset, foot, toe. You never have time to get bored!

      Like

  3. Jenny Says:

    I highly recommend Wendy Johnson. She has lots of patterns and a book, Socks from the Toes Up. She does a great job explaining toe up socks.

    Like

  4. Anna Gretta Says:

    LOVE !!! you are THE best Mom !!! xxxooo

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

