Something new-ish

March 5, 2014

Since I like knitting socks so much, I’ve vowed to always have one in progress. They’re portable, enjoyable, and provide ample opportunity for variety.

When I finished Michael’s pair, I decided to try the Magic Loop method of knitting — instead of three DPNs (my preferred tools), one long circular needle is used. Having heard the dreaded “ping” of a DPN falling on the floor or gym bleacher, the idea of using a needle that I couldn’t drop was appealing. Plus, I like learning new things.

IMG_3190

The process looks very fiddly and, like many things, looks really complicated until you figure it out. It took me a few severn or eight rounds to get the hang of the sliding stitches, pulling cords, and flipping needles, but I’ve done it.

IMG_3189

Now that the cuff is done, I need to figure out what the leg will be. Plain stockinette stitch or something new?

 

3 Responses to “Something new-ish”


  1. I really must try the magic loop method as I find working with dpns fiddly.

    Like

  2. patrick.dober@gmail.com Says:

    I’d go for something new.

    >

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

