Cozy Knits for a Birthday Girl

December 9, 2016

My Twitter feed is full of ideas for gift knitting. As we get closer to Christmas, there are more “quick knits” made with chunky, bulky, and super bulky yarn. Someone could probably track how the changes in yarn weights correspond with amount of time until Christmas. But that someone isn’t me because I’ve got gifts to knit.

First, a birthday gift for a beloved niece, a truly amazing young woman attending college in my hometown. She’s generous, curious, super smart, talented in so many ways — baking, theatre sound engineering, photography, poetry that touches hearts (this one’s been shared more than 70,000 times).

My heart warms whenever I think of her, which I’ve been doing a lot lately because I’ve been knitting love into every stitch of her gift.

gaptastic-cowl-fingerless-mitts

A GAPtastic cowl, which regular readers will know is a popular project for me and my knitting students, and a pair of fingerless mitts in matching seed stitch.

It arrived just a day after her birthday earlier this week (but was technically on time because it was mailed before her birthday — that’s my story and I’m sticking with it). Since the temperatures are below freezing during the day and well below at night, I’d say it arrived just in time.

2 Responses to “Cozy Knits for a Birthday Girl”


  1. […] Patrick Dober on Cozy Knits for a Birthday… […]

    Like

  2. Patrick Dober Says:

    Love it. xoxoxo

    On Fri, Dec 9, 2016 at 2:20 PM, Saltwater Hill Knits wrote:

    > saltwaterhillknits posted: “My Twitter feed is full of ideas for gift > knitting. As we get closer to Christmas, there are more “quick knits” made > with chunky, bulky, and super bulky yarn. Someone could probably track how > the changes in yarn weights correspond with amount of time unti” >

    Like


Please Leave a Reply

